INDIE BOOK AWARDS - 2017 Shortlist

The Good People by Hannah Kent (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson (Hachette Australia)
The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith (Allen & Unwin)

The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke (Hachette Australia)
Ghost Empire by Richard Fidler (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)
Fight Like a Girl by Clementine Ford (Allen & Unwin)
Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner (Text Publishing)

Debut Fiction
The Birdman's Wife by Melissa Ashley (Affirm Press)
The Midnight Watch by David Dyer (Penguin Books Australia)
The Dry by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan Australia
Goodwood by Holly Throsby (Allen & Unwin)

Circle by Jeannie Baker (Walker Books Australia)
Pig the Winner by Aaron Blabey (Scholastic Australia)
The 78-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Illus) (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Wormwood Mire by Judith Rossell (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Established in 2008, the Indie Book Awards celebrate the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers. Independent Booksellers are renowned for their love of books and reading, supporting new and emerging Australian authors and fostering a love of quality writing.

The Category Winners and the Overall Book of the Year Winner being announced on Monday 20th March 2017