Can You Die of a Broken Heart?

 

Can You Die of a Broken Heart? A heart surgeon's insight into what makes us tick

Author: 
Dr Nikki Stamp

In the vein of Gut and The Brain That Changes Itself, a gripping exploration into the inner workings of the heart and how emotions and lifestyle affect every beat.

When actress Debbie Reynolds died a day after her beloved daughter, Carrie Fisher, the world diagnosed it as 'heartbreak'. But what's the evidence? Does emotional upheaval affect the heart? Can love, or chocolate, really heal our heart problems? And why do we know so much about heart attacks in men, when they are more fatal in women?

Heart and lung surgeon Dr Nikki Stamp takes us into the operating theatre, explaining what she sees in patients with heart complications and how a life-saving transplant works. Stamp fell in the love with the heart as a child and continues to be fascinated by its workings and the whole-of-life experiences that affect it. Rich with anecdotes, and insights for maintaining heart health, Can You Die of a Broken Heart? is a blockbuster from a uniquely positioned young specialist.

Price: 
$29.99