The World Within: A Novel of Emily Bronte

Author(s): Jane Eagland

Teen Fiction

The most mysterious Bronte sister steps into the light in this must-read novel for fans of "Wuthering Heights" and "Jane Eyre." Emily Bronte loves her sisters, responsible Charlotte and quiet Anne, and her brother, tempestuous Branwell. She loves the moors that stretch all around the little village of Haworth, and wandering over them in the worst of weather. And she loves most of all the writing that brings all these things together, as she and her siblings create vast kingdoms and vivid adventures that take them deep into their imaginations. But change is coming to Haworth, as their father falls ill and the girls must learn how to support themselves. How can Emily preserve both what she loves, and herself, and find her way into the future? From the award-winning author of "Wildthorn," the story of a young writer finding her voice, and a window into the mind of the beloved but mysterious Emily Bronte.

$24.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Praise for "The World Within" A Junior Library Guild Selection "A girl runs wild and writes furiously in this portrait of author Emily Bronte's early years." -- "Kirkus Reviews" ""The World Within" should prove an inspiring account to aspiring teen authors and historical fiction fans." -- "Voice of Youth Advocates" Praise for Jane Eagland's ""Wildthorn" Lambda Literary Award for Children's/Young Adult "Eagland's debut stands out for its well-crafted treatment of an unconventional love affair." -- "Booklist" ""Wildthorn" is a dark tale featuring a vibrant protagonist who refuses to let others squelch her passion....Fans of historical fiction or GLBTQ fiction will likely enjoy this unique story of mystery and romance." -- "Voice of Youth Advocates"

Jane Eagland was born in Essex, England, and taught high school English for many years. She now divides her time between writing and tutoring. Her first novel, WILDTHORN, received the Lambda Literary Award. Jane lives in Lancashire, England, only about one hundred miles from where the Brontes grew up.

General Fields

  • : 9780545492959
  • : Scholastic US
  • : Scholastic US
  • : May 2015
  • : United States
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : 336
  • : Jane Eagland